6 Replies - 386 Views - Last Post: 26 April 2019 - 03:50 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

general speed problem with big data

Posted 24 April 2019 - 12:26 AM

I'm new to working with big data and consequently don't understand a whole lot what I'm doing. I have a data set of 14 billion words of text and it takes me roughly 7 hours to loop through it all. My main problem is that almost all of the time is sucked up in opening and saving files. It took me roughly the same amount of time to just move the 800 gigs of data from one disk to another as it did to loop through all the words and collect stats on them. I'm going to acquire a new language anyway. Right now I'm using Python which is among the slowest of languages and I plan on learning C and Java which are among the fastest of languages but I have a feeling that C and Java is not going to speed things since it seems that 90% of my time is consumed by saving files to the disk. I've done experiments in upgrading from one computer to another. So in one experiment the exact same program sped up twice as fast when I upgraded from a 2011 intel processor to a 2016 intel processor. (I forget the exact specs of the processor). So I'm a little skeptical that upgrading hardware will solve things. I'm also almost certainly going to get a cheap laptop for $200 and put Linux on it, so we'll see if that helps. But in any case, I need to find some way to loop through 800 gigs of data in about 1 hour.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: general speed problem with big data

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: general speed problem with big data

Posted 24 April 2019 - 04:50 AM

This might be a job for a database. An RDBMS is optimized for a few things: read speed, write speed, indexing.