Employer claims they legally cannot make me salary

• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 1861 Views - Last Post: 09 June 2019 - 03:32 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Employer claims they legally cannot make me salary

Posted 02 May 2019 - 09:35 AM

I work for a large private company (6 global locations) on the 7-man IT team. I run an entire site by myself and help remotely with our site in England and Luxembourg. I have been asking for 3 years now to be made salary and the company continues to say that they are legally not allowed to do it. I generally work 60+ hour weeks and while the money is good, I am tired of having to report all the emails and phone calls after hours as well as getting my ass chewed at least once a year over how many hours I am working. I document everything I do to justify the hours as well as any approvals/requests for me to work outside of my normal hours; the money from overtime isn't worth the headache anymore and the company won't hire another person for the department. I have thought about leaving for another job but I really like the industry we are in and being the only person in my department, in the building (I'm in TN, the IT manager is in CA) I have pretty free range of my schedule and what I do. Am I stupid for wanting to be salary or leaving?

Are they being honest that they legally cannot make me salary?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Employer claims they legally cannot make me salary

#2 no2pencil   User is online

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Employer claims they legally cannot make me salary

Posted 02 May 2019 - 09:40 AM

Sorry to hear that you are going through this.

Rather than fight with their HR, I would just move on. If they don't have your back, go support an infrastructure for someone that will.

View PostpriceK, on 02 May 2019 - 12:35 PM, said:

Am I stupid for wanting to be salary or leaving?