2 Replies - 267 Views - Last Post: 04 May 2019 - 03:14 AM

#1 olly   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 03-May 19

is it easy to create a virtual com port?

Posted 03 May 2019 - 03:37 PM

Hi

I'm trying to create a virtual com port to receive information from a existing com port.

Existing com port = PC 1 transmit the data to PC 2

Virtual Com port = PC 2

im trying to code some software to transmit and receive.

Can anybody point me in the right right?


Thanks

Olly
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: is it easy to create a virtual com port?

#2 jimblumberg   User is offline

  • member icon

Reputation: 5748
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17,605
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: is it easy to create a virtual com port?

Posted 03 May 2019 - 04:58 PM

What kind of hardware are you using? Do you have an OS? If so which one? What software are you trying to use? How many physical comm ports do you have?

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 olly   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 03-May 19

Re: is it easy to create a virtual com port?

Posted 04 May 2019 - 03:14 AM

Hi Jon,

This is on windows 10 - i want it to transfer the information of say com port 1 on pc1 and appear in pc 2 ( like its plugged into pc 2)
There is a software online called “flexi hub” which works perfect for me but there is a few tweaks i want to make to it.
This is why i want to make my own.

Thanks Olly

This post has been edited by Skydiver: 08 May 2019 - 09:52 AM
Reason for edit:: Removed unnecessary quote. No need to quote the post above yours.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1