4 Replies - 388 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2019 - 02:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Java or C++ for OS/Kernel interactions?

Posted 24 May 2019 - 06:16 AM

Alright, So I am an intermediate in Java and I got into wanting to learn about the Operating System, so I learned as much as I could then came to a halt because of how limited you are with Java. You see, Java runs in its own little Virtual Machine called the JVM and this ended up limiting me to what I can do. My end goal is to just begin to interact with the OS, or even learn how to program a Kernel, or at least communicate with it. I am self-taught in Java, (As, let's be real, most people are) so there may be gaps in my knowledge. I also self-taught myself some C++ which is very different then Java, first thing I learned there was the new function in java is completely different. But in my short weeks in C++ I think I understood (Correct me if I am wrong) that C++ is more integrated with the System, in the sense it can interact with OS and kernel (I think, still working on basics, found this cool into to C++ tutorial on youtube that's 2 hours, tbh probably a marketing scheme for some "amazing future of coding technology school that charges $200/month for lessons you could learn more in depth by reading stack overflow posts for about an hour") Anyways, can someone help me choose whether to go C++ or Java, and maybe give examples or an explanation of why, and maybe if it doesn't trouble you a place to get started learning how to interact with OS and/or kernel in this language? Thank you.

I don't have code for this as it is a question, I couldnt find a subforum/topic in which this would be most appropriate so I put it here, if there is a subtopic that suits this better please let me know where to move this thread (and how to move this thread lol) (or if you are an admin please move this to a more appropriate topic for me if this is not the most appropriate thread).