7 Replies - 405 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2019 - 09:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Databases, where to start?

Posted 26 June 2019 - 07:06 AM

Hey, everyone!

As a disclaimer, I'm very new to all of this. Ultimately, I am working towards a web-based database that allows me to search, update, and connect contact information for clients, and have that all display on a website.

i.e. I search for the Chief Information Officers of all Companies in the Atlanta area. (This would be information manually entered over time by myself and other users). I would want the contacts to 'belong' to certain users, but be visible to all users.

From the feedback I've gotten so far and what I've read, I need to tackle database first.

I spent a few hours last night doing basic SQL courses on Code Academy. I am getting a grasp on how the language works, and what some of the common clauses and statements do to the data. The problem is, when doing these tutorials, it seems I'm just inputting them into a command line to display results in an adjacent frame. That means all of the data is already somewhere behind the scenes and I'm inputting commands into an existing infrastructure to display the data in various different formats. What i don't understand yet is how do I get the database into existence? How do I get data points into the tables in that database?

1. Do I need a program for the database? Is it text, spreadsheet, etc..

2. With the tables, it just seems like a series of spreadsheets. Is this how I store the individual data points?

3. Where should or can I house these databases? Could I house them on something like a Google Drive or Dropbox? Does that make sense? or should I house them on a physical server?

4. Is there a preferred database and language combination that would allow me to more easily query 20-30 data points each for over 100,000 contacts?

IMMEDIATE GOALS for the Database