5 Replies - 460 Views - Last Post: 02 September 2019 - 12:21 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Beginning of beginnings.

Posted 01 July 2019 - 04:02 PM

Hello there, my name is dako. I am a neophyte in the truest sense of the word. When I was a kid I did a lot of online gaming in emulated servers and admired the programmers who read those servers more than I have ever venerated any other group.
After some years living reckless, probably because of my depression and socially misfitting tendencies I got into some trouble. I am now trying to make a better life for myself and I do not have any doubt that computer science is the answer for me. I never was able to find an outlet so pure and whole that let me escape from the real world as computers. Unfortunately I know nothing about the technical side of things. I have been learning programming to an extent but am still a total beginner. I know a bit of Java and C++ but am entirely unsure what to do with my current skills and how to further advance them.
I also know nothing of the jargon of software nor of hardware and networking. I am reading articles but they tend to lead to more questions that answers. My solution? Find a forum that looked encompassing and welcoming. I hope that I can meet some good guys and girls on here that will help me in my endeavors to become a professional programmer and computer scientist and may even become lifelong friends.
Thank you to everyone who took the time to read this. And now for my first question that I am sure will get some scoffs... What is the name of the language/protocol of the blocked code that people use inside of these text boxes to write for instance "["code] or [bold] and what is some of the useful syntax? Such as... is there one for indentation?

Attached image(s)

• Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Beginning of beginnings.

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Beginning of beginnings.

Posted 01 July 2019 - 06:24 PM