4 Replies - 301 Views - Last Post: 06 July 2019 - 06:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Masters in Computer Science

Posted 06 July 2019 - 01:06 AM

Hello Forum,

I am new here but have maybe an interesting question. I now have a bachelor's in applied mathematics and applied statistics degrees. I graduated with a 3.92 and a 4.0 with my degrees. I do know multiple languages but because of my degrees the languages I know such as python, R, SAS etc do not really help me with computer science as a whole. Because of my history as well, I am not the best computer science major but because of my GPA and GRE scores and performance I am able to get into any computer science masters program i want to. I know I will have to take the 5 remedial classes but I truly want to know how hard will it be to transition to a graduate program in computer science without having a bachelors in it. Should I get another bachelors or go straight to grad school with computer science. What will be my obstacles and do you think it is a very easy transition.

thank you in advance,

Tom

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Masters in Computer Science

• I wrote you an code
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Masters in Computer Science

Posted 06 July 2019 - 06:58 AM

Well, what are your goals? A master's in computer science can be very interesting (and frequently tempts me), but isn't necessarily going to make you a better software engineer, for example.

I in any case don't think I'd recommend getting another bachelor's in C.S.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 July 2019 - 10:52 AM

I now have a bachelor's in applied mathematics and applied statistics degrees.