6 Replies - 249 Views - Last Post: 15 July 2019 - 10:15 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need to save contents of Windows Form App

Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:07 AM

Hello

Please forgive me if this is impossible, I'm a total newbie to programming.

I have created a Windows Form Application in Visual Studio which is now running as an .exe file on my PC.
The purpose of the form is to allow me to enter text and upload images into various tabs which I have added with .. I will post screen grabs below.

The problem:

I have added a MenuStrip to the application. I would like to use the "Save as.." button on the menustrip so that I can save the ENTIRE contents of the application(text entries, pictureBox contents and whatever else I add in later).

I have trawled the web for hours reading about things I don't understand, like StreamWriters and BindingNavigators which seem to apply to my issue but I don't see how.

In a nutshell I would just like to "Save as.." a file name which I specify via SaveFileDialog so that when I open the file later, it opens the Windows Form with the contents that were in it when I saved. Ultimately I will have lots of Saved Files, each with different content, which I would like to open later.

Is there some code that I can use to achieve this?

I have added a SaveFileDialog control to the form, and I have double clicked the Save As control which has added a section called "SaveAsToolStripMenuItem_Click" to the coding screen where I need to enter the code for the above issue.

Please see screen grabs for better understanding.

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need to save contents of Windows Form App

#2 Skydiver   User is online

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need to save contents of Windows Form App

Posted 15 July 2019 - 05:23 AM