5 Replies - 312 Views - Last Post: 18 July 2019 - 05:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 jericode   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-July 19

GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 17 July 2019 - 02:20 PM

Needing some guiding steps to bring an idea to life... My job has numerous servers that when we need to disable/enable for patching, we have to go to a load balancer webpage and disable/enable individually which is very time consuming. We have multiple servers, Servers A thru Server D, each with 4 instances, and all listed in 4 pools.

How could I create a simple GUI where I could press a button to disable/enablethe servers instantly. (I.E. "Disable Server B" and all ports for Server B would be disabled on the load balancer page at once.) Any help would be appreciated, I feel like a point in the right direction or an example showing how to make it work could get me started and allow me to add for the all of the servers on my own (20+).

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

#2 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 15176
  • View blog
  • Posts: 60,744
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 17 July 2019 - 02:34 PM

Are you looking to reboot the entire box, or just the virtual servers? Linux or windows?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 g00se   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3639
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16,720
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 18 July 2019 - 03:54 AM

Typing something at the command line like
disable A B D 
would be the fastest possibly way to do something like that.
Have a look to see if you can get to what is behind you gui. You might be able to do that

This post has been edited by g00se: 18 July 2019 - 03:55 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jericode   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-July 19

Re: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 18 July 2019 - 05:20 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 17 July 2019 - 02:34 PM, said:

Are you looking to reboot the entire box, or just the virtual servers? Linux or windows?

Just disable the server from that load balancer page which effectively stops traffic from going to that server (does not stop applications on the server itself). They are Linux servers.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jericode   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-July 19

Re: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 18 July 2019 - 05:26 AM

View Postg00se, on 18 July 2019 - 03:54 AM, said:

Typing something at the command line like
disable A B D 
would be the fastest possibly way to do something like that.
Have a look to see if you can get to what is behind you gui. You might be able to do that


This would be a new GUI. Currently we log in to an F5 load balancer page with all the servers listed there and we have the tedious task of disabling server/down port for each server & instance and it is extremely time consuming. Disabling in this sense of course means just stops traffic from going to that server. My limited Java skills have stopped me in my tracks about how to make the connection to the servers on that page, disable them under one button (Disable all B servers, etc), and then go to that page to find them disabled.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 g00se   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3639
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16,720
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: GUI to disable/enable servers at one time

Posted 18 July 2019 - 05:41 AM

Quote

This would be a new GUI

Not sure i understand. As i understand it, you are already using a gui. What i'm suggesting would give you the least possible labour and is NOT a gui
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1