4 Replies - 224 Views - Last Post: 09 November 2019 - 10:58 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

the best database backend to use for an android business app

Posted 09 November 2019 - 09:58 PM

hello all,

I will be developing my first mobile app soon, and it will be for android. I already have the Android SDK installed, but I have also read about the NDK. I guess I would like to ask first...what's the difference between the SDK and the NDK? From what I've read, the NDK is easier to use for writing C and C++, and more appropriate for writing gaming software?

My biggest question though, is about what database platform to use to store my business information in? Are there any platforms that won't work with an android app? I have plenty of experience with MYSQL and Oracle, but no experience with SQL Server and that is very popular nowadays. Can anyone offer me some advice on this? Not only this, but I also understand that Java is the standard language for developing Android apps? Is that pretty much accepted among the developer community, or can other languages also be used?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: the best database backend to use for an android business app

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: the best database backend to use for an android business app

Posted 09 November 2019 - 10:46 PM

Any db can be used when you slap an API on it for database interactions.

Yes, Java is the usual, but some folk use Microsoft's xamarin to excellent outcomes.

Yes, ndk is the c++ libraries.
https://developer.android.com/ndk
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 ndc85430   User is online

• I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 09 November 2019 - 10:48 PM

View Postajetrumpet, on 10 November 2019 - 04:58 AM, said: