4 Replies - 382 Views - Last Post: 30 November 2019 - 04:47 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do I get the value of a web page element?

Posted 28 November 2019 - 04:15 PM

I am just getting into Javascript and interactive web pages, and have hit a snag that two days of poking round various reference sources has failed to solve. From past experience, I know it will be trivially simple! I just need to be pointed in the right direction.

To summarise, the web page is used to control and monitor a device which obtains opinions. The device incorporates an ESP8266 which provides a web server. The 'sending' side of the web page works fine and I can control the various features on the device.

What I am trying to do is to get two items of data from the device and display them on the screen, the current time and a battery voltage. The code below achieves these quite happily (though there are probably better ways of doing it!). What I CANNOT do, however, is to use the value of battVolts to change the background colour of the field in which it is displayed. The function that should do this is at the bottom of the code, but the web console just comes up with "ReferenceError: number is not defined" every second. I have tried various 'variable names' in the IF statements and in a Switch statement, but to no avail.

What am I missing here??

[AT THIS POINT I HAVE TRIED TO POST MY HTML/Javascript CODE, BUT EVERY TIME I DO, I GET BLOCKED! THE CODE IS BETWEEN TAGS, AS INSTRUCTED - WHY AM I BEING BLOCKED? WHAT MUST I NOT INCLUDE IN ORDER TO AVOID THIS?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do I get the value of a web page element?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do I get the value of a web page element?

Posted 28 November 2019 - 04:23 PM