10 Replies - 544 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2019 - 04:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Can you write a txt and then write over it with new txt?

Posted 06 December 2019 - 12:14 AM

My office manager knows nothing about IT/programming, his father is in a higher position and got him that job without him having any technical knowledge. He wanted me to make an inventory program and I started learning about mysql, thinking that would be the best option. He refused and wanted it done in C# (He doesn't want to have to learn how to enter things to use mysql). He just basically wants to enter data and forget about it (Not saving it). Yes, I also mentioned using excel and he refused.

I have an idea how to make an inventory program, I was going to save the data as txt files and then when the information changes write over it, like you would a VCR or audio cassette. My question is whether its possible to do it and how would I write over the old txt?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can you write a txt and then write over it with new txt?

• Member Title
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Can you write a txt and then write over it with new txt?

Posted 06 December 2019 - 01:36 AM

Database would be the way to go.

But seeing as you have already mentioned that's a no go, what about XML instead of text files? At least it has some sort of structure then, you can read the XML into a object structure, modify the objects through the application and when it's time to save, serialise the XML to text file.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 December 2019 - 04:58 AM

Actually, I think the issue is that the boss thinks he needs to use MySQL directly. There is no need. You can still write your custom C# code to provide the UI, but save the data into MySQL, or SQLite, or SQL Server Express, or BerkleyDB, or horror of horrors a text file.