4 Replies - 473 Views - Last Post: 22 December 2019 - 01:12 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How can I make picture boxes move smoothly over other picture boxes

Posted 21 December 2019 - 07:24 PM

I am very new to coding and i decided to take a grade 12 computer science course and one of the assignments is to create a 2d game. My friends in the class have made the character move across a solid colour background but I decided to make my background an image of an 8-bit forest. the forest moves while the character stays in the same place. The form gets lots of lag when i try to move him. Is there anything I can do to make it run smoother. Thanks in advance
ps. I'm very new (and not the brightest kid ever) so explain it like you would to a 6 year old.

[Private Sub BLeft_Tick(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles BLeft.Tick
PictureBox11.Left = PictureBox11.Left - 12
PictureBox13.Left = PictureBox13.Left - 4
End Sub

Private Sub BRight_Tick(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles BRight.Tick
PictureBox11.Left = PictureBox11.Left + 12
PictureBox13.Left = PictureBox13.Left + 4

End Sub]

picturebox11 is the ground and 13 is the background.
(yes, I know I should name them better)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How can I make picture boxes move smoothly over other picture boxes

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How can I make picture boxes move smoothly over other picture boxes

Posted 22 December 2019 - 12:23 AM

Well you are talking about a bit of a more advanced topic, but I will "try" and explain it like a 6 year old. The lag you are seeing is because it has to repaint the entire picture. That takes time. How do you cut down the time? Well, two approaches...