8 Replies - 932 Views - Last Post: 02 May 2020 - 08:19 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Only getting a complex project explained over phone

Post icon  Posted 17 April 2020 - 06:19 AM

Hi

I have to develop a pretty complex application. And while I'm sure I can do it programmatically, I do not understand the project yet (what the client actually wants in detail).
This project requires me to analyze complex data, metrics,... over a sector which I have zero experience in. This data also needs to be grouped in specific categories,...

We have called over phone, but hearing someone explain a big project like this ain't ideal.

So I asked for description/explanation of the project in text. So I can read it always over and over, mark things, and view what data the client wants analyzed,...
But it seems that my client thinks typing this down for me is a waste of time, and would rather call again.

To me it seems impossible to start developing this without having a kind of description/text like I'd have in school with school assignments.

How do you see this? How do you get big projects like this? Over phone or in text? Am I right that a description in text is fundamentally?

I'd like to be able to say "There is none software engineer who can develop this without having the description of the project in text." But this would be a false statement
if you guys get all your projects explained over phone...

Thanks. :)/>

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 02 May 2020 - 04:46 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Only getting a complex project explained over phone

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Only getting a complex project explained over phone

Posted 17 April 2020 - 06:48 AM

That's why you bill for design time. Get as much information as you can, and write it down.

Sketch out a design doc of what was asked, ui mock ups, etc, and send it to them.