8 Replies - 559 Views - Last Post: 04 May 2020 - 02:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Complete beginner! Where do I start?

Posted 28 April 2020 - 08:01 AM

Hello All,

As my username might tell you I have 'no clue'. I have never had any experience with coding (I'm a painting restorer) but I realise that it is becoming more and more necessary.

I know what I want to achieve, but I don't know where to start. What coding language should I learn? What am I actually trying to do? Is it possible to do what I want to achieve? I guess you get the gist: I'm lost!

Here is what that problem is that I'm trying to solve:

-In my studio a painting arrives.
-Then we write down info such as: owner, artist, title, arrival date, our job number, our invoice number etc.
-We then manually enter all the information again into a prepared template for our treatment report.
-This is followed by making a final invoice, again with similar info entered.

Doing all this manually has created a jumble of invoice and job numbers and is generally a pain!
So far I have tried to work with excel and mailmerge function, which is a nod in the right direction but not quite what I want.

Here is what I would like to do:

-The painting arrives and I add all the info about the object and client into something like excel.
-Then I press a button/ run a script and two documents will be prepared using the info from the excel sheet. One treatment report template that is has required fields filled out, and the other is the invoice which uses some info from the excel sheet, and some info that I will have added in the treatment report. Both documents will also be saved with a predetermined document name.
-I bascially want to start out with one database program, but the two generated output documents should be a word based editor because large parts of text will be required.

And here are my questions:
-Is it possible to achieve something like this?