6 Replies - 446 Views - Last Post: 21 May 2020 - 10:27 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Most popular programming languages in the next 5-10 years?

Posted 20 May 2020 - 07:09 PM

I understand nobody can predict the future, but I'm interested what you all think will be the most in-use programming languages in the next 5-10 years. I'm just starting university, and although I have some background in coding I'd like to really make the best of my time learning languages and skills that will actually be used when I graduate.

I know that most likely major languages like Python or Java will still be used, and there will be plenty of legacy code out there written in other languages.

But I'm also sure that other newer languages like Rust, R, Crystal or maybe even a language I haven't heard of will become a desired skill from future employers. These languages aren't "mainstream" (Except R and maybe Rust), but could become (and probably will become) much more widely used.

Many of you on here already work professionally and have a lot of exposure to the industry. What do you think about this?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Most popular programming languages in the next 5-10 years?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Most popular programming languages in the next 5-10 years?

Posted 20 May 2020 - 09:07 PM

Five or ten years is a very long time. That being said learning the principles of programming shifts the onus from one of knowing languages to one knowing the principles of a programming. The syntax becomes a secondary factor.

Example - picking up principles of programming knowledge make vacillating between C#, C++, Java, and VB.NET fairly easy for me. I know what a loop is, and switching between syntax becomes a minor bump.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 21 May 2020 - 09:37 AM