How do I get ideas for daily code?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

25 Replies - 2620 Views - Last Post: 24 August 2020 - 12:26 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do I get ideas for daily code?

Posted 19 August 2020 - 02:03 PM

I'm not sure where to put this type of question but I'm a CS student so the student campus sounds like a good place to post. After all students meet up and have discussions on campus all the time.
My situation is like this: I'm just starting out programming and all I've learned is stuff from a college course on C++ and a coursera course on Python. I'm reading The Self-Taught Programmer by Cory Althoff and it says that 199/200 applicants for programming jobs don't know how to write very simple code because all they learned is the theory in school but never got much practice, and just figured that school would be good enough. This book stresses that you can't get a job doing something that you've never done before, and that a minimum of 500hrs of code is adequate to get a coding job. The suggestion is to adopt an hour of code a day. Also, agent Dale Cooper from Twin Peaks always said "work on your daily routine, let it become the tent pole of your future." With some past failures, I want to make an honest attempt at coding for at least one hour every day. But what do I code, exactly? When it comes time to code, what do I code? How will I know what kinds of programs to make? I figure a bit of looking around and studying the programming language an hour beforehand will give me some ideas, although then it's one hour of code and one hour of study a day. I'm kind of nervous that I won't be able to think of anything to code.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do I get ideas for daily code?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do I get ideas for daily code?

Posted 19 August 2020 - 02:34 PM