11 Replies - 1245 Views - Last Post: 28 June 2021 - 05:09 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

I'm not a real programmer.

Posted 26 June 2021 - 05:51 PM

For a long time I believed myself to be a programmer because I knew several programming languages and could use them to write programs. I even had a job at a small startup developing applications for clients, a job that lasted four years. But I was never a computer programmer because I had no background in computer science.

Also, I never designed an application before implementing it except in two computer science classes in college. Any other time I developed an application I winged it. In light of all these things I am not a computer programmer. I am a coder.

So now I ask you. Besides going back to college, what should I do to become a real programmer, so that I can build real software according to real software engineering principles?

Thank you for your answers.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I'm not a real programmer.

• I wrote you an code
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I'm not a real programmer.

Posted 26 June 2021 - 07:30 PM

You've differentiated among several terms without really defining why you do or don't fit into any of them:

* computer scientist
* coder
* computer programmer
* software engineer

The middle two seem the same, the former has little to do with the other 3, and the latter is inconsistently defined anyway.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• NeoTifa Codebreaker, the Scourge of Devtester
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 June 2021 - 08:49 AM

Just practice. One doesn't have to have a degree to be a programmer.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 June 2021 - 09:20 AM

POPULAR

But I was never a computer programmer because I had no background in computer science.