3 Replies - 5153 Views - Last Post: 28 April 2009 - 10:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 rabbit_slayer   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: 30-September 07

any idea on how to bypass the "too many controls in form" in

Posted 07 February 2008 - 07:04 AM

my project in vb6 has hit a preety big snag, i've reached the maximum number of controls that the form can support.
can i rise the limit somehow?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: any idea on how to bypass the "too many controls in form" in

#2 PsychoCoder   User is offline

  • Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

Reputation: 1659
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,853
  • Joined: 26-July 07

Re: any idea on how to bypass the "too many controls in form" in

Posted 07 February 2008 - 07:08 AM

Well this is a question I've never heard asked before, just how many controls do you have on your form? If Im not mistaken there is no way of raising that limit, I believe it's a set number that us as programmers do not have access to.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 rabbit_slayer   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: 30-September 07

Re: any idea on how to bypass the "too many controls in form" in

Posted 07 February 2008 - 07:27 AM

god damm microsoft!
well, let's just say i've a sh#t load of them :D
anywho i'll manage, i'm deleting some timers.
meanwhile...how can i set the volume for a wav sound in vb6?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 George1111   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 28-April 09

Re: any idea on how to bypass the "too many controls in form" in

Posted 28 April 2009 - 10:43 AM

View Postrabbit_slayer, on 7 Feb, 2008 - 06:27 AM, said:

god damm microsoft!
well, let's just say i've a sh#t load of them :D
anywho i'll manage, i'm deleting some timers.
meanwhile...how can i set the volume for a wav sound in vb6?


You are dealing with a limit of 255 controls on a form.

You have a couple of options

Easiest one is to make all your fixed labels ONE Array eg, LabelX(0),LabelX(1),LabelX(2) etc
This counts as only ONE control

Second way (more tricky) is to overlay the form with a borderless form(s) which, when loaded. looks like it is part of the main form

I use this technique when using SSTAB and have several tabs - each tab loads a borderless for on top of the tab area
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1