1 Replies - 1017 Views - Last Post: 20 February 2008 - 12:56 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question about Arrays

Post icon  Posted 20 February 2008 - 12:01 PM

Well, lets get this party started. I am currently working on a loan calculator. I understand how to create it using JOptionPane.showInputDialog and only allowing for one loan at a time. What I really want to do is create a single content pane that uses arrays to store up to 5 different loans. I envision a JMenu with “New Loan,” “Existing Loans,” and “Delete Loan.” Under the “New Loan” menu, I would have:

JMenu newLoan = new JMenu(“New Loan”);
JMenuItem nl;

nl = new JMenuItem(“Preferred Customer”);
nl.addActionListener(this);
newLoan.add(nl);

nl = new JMenuItem(“Regular Customer”);
nl.addActionListener(this);
newLoan.add(nl);

I would have two different selections, seeing as which one you pick determines the interest rate you are going to be stuck with. Now, I am still very new to Java, but I think I am getting a handle on it pretty quick. I am guessing I first want to create a class, something along the lines as NewLoan to handle this part of the program. Up until this point, I have been using just command line and JOptionPane; so, the contentPane is still very new to me. One of my many questions is how do I make this all take place within the same screen? I mean, when I click “Preferred Customer” and it sets off the if (actionCommand.equals(“Preferred Customer”)), how is this going to effect my contentPane. Because I would like pane to be “over written” I guess for lack of better words, when I select new selections from the menu bar. Does this have to do with setting things visible?