Website form to database

taking data from a form to update database

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 1300 Views - Last Post: 10 June 2008 - 05:34 PM

#1 ivette   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 10-June 08

Website form to database

Post icon  Posted 10 June 2008 - 10:31 AM

I just created my first website and now I need to populate a database with information entered on my feedback page. I am using Expression Web but I just cant seem to make it work. When the Submit button is clicked it opens the database. Can anyone direct me to sample code that might help me correct it? Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Website form to database

#2 Jayman   User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 423
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Website form to database

Posted 10 June 2008 - 10:34 AM

We can do even better than that, post your code and we will help you get it working.

Post the code that is inserting the data into your database.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 PsychoCoder   User is offline

  • Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

Reputation: 1663
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,853
  • Joined: 26-July 07

Re: Website form to database

Posted 10 June 2008 - 10:34 AM

First, what language and database are you using? Second, can you post the code you're currently using so we can see if we can help walk you through your troubles. When posting your code please put it inside code tags like so :code:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 ivette   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 10-June 08

Re: Website form to database

Posted 10 June 2008 - 04:03 PM

View Postjayman9, on 10 Jun, 2008 - 10:34 AM, said:

We can do even better than that, post your code and we will help you get it working.

Post the code that is inserting the data into your database.




Jayman, thank you for the response, here is the code

<h2>
&nbsp;<p class="style20">Feedback</p>
</h2>
<form action="" class="style10" method="post" style="width: 682px; height: 399px">
Full Name<input class="style11" name="Text1" style="width: 344px" type="text" /><br />
Address<input class="style12" name="Text6" style="width: 344px" type="text" /><br />
City<input class="style13" name="Text7" style="width: 156px" type="text" /><br />
State<input class="style14" name="Text8" style="width: 155px" type="text" /><br />
Zip<input class="style15" name="Text9" style="width: 156px; height: 25px" type="text" /><br />
Phone<input class="style16" name="Text10" style="width: 157px; height: 25px" type="text" /><br />
Alt. Phone<input class="style17" name="Text11" style="width: 156px; height: 24px" type="text" /><br />
Email<input class="style18" name="Text12" style="width: 265px" type="text" /><br />
Vacation Preference<input class="style19" name="Text13" style="width: 313px; height: 24px" type="text" /><br />
<br />
Suggestions<br />
<textarea name="TextArea1" style="width: 475px; height: 81px"></textarea><a href="../../../Express%20Holidays.mdb"><img id="img1" alt="Submit" height="20" onmousedown="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img1',/*url*/'button7.jpg')" onmouseout="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img1',/*url*/'button5.jpg')" onmouseover="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img1',/*url*/'button6.jpg')" onmouseup="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img1',/*url*/'button6.jpg')" src="button5.jpg" style="border: 0" width="100" /><!-- MSComment="ibutton" fp-style="fp-btn: Border Bottom 3; fp-font: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; fp-font-style: Bold; fp-font-size: 12; fp-preload: 0" fp-title="Submit" --></a><br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
</form>


View PostPsychoCoder, on 10 Jun, 2008 - 10:34 AM, said:

First, what language and database are you using? Second, can you post the code you're currently using so we can see if we can help walk you through your troubles. When posting your code please put it inside code tags like so :code:



PsychoCoder, I am using Expression Web not sure what language and Access database. Please see my reply to jayman for the code. Thank you for your reply.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 BetaWar   User is offline

  • #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

Reputation: 1649
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,516
  • Joined: 07-September 06

Re: Website form to database

Posted 10 June 2008 - 04:44 PM

I believe they are talking about your server side stuff, not the front end. So, if you have access tot he php/asp that is running your back end that is what jayman was talking about.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 ivette   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 10-June 08

Re: Website form to database

Posted 10 June 2008 - 05:34 PM

View PostBetaWar, on 10 Jun, 2008 - 04:44 PM, said:

I believe they are talking about your server side stuff, not the front end. So, if you have access tot he php/asp that is running your back end that is what jayman was talking about.



I dont know how to find that. Do I need to convert the Feedback page from htm to asp?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1