Are Quadro graphics cards really worth it?

Am considering getting one but not sure if it'll make any differen

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 2505 Views - Last Post: 16 July 2008 - 05:14 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are Quadro graphics cards really worth it?

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:32 AM

Hi all, I'm fairly new to site and could do with little advice. I've been playing around with 3d Graphics for a while now. 3ds Max, Maya, Terragen and so on - did a little at uni which got me interested so I try to learn more while at home.

I recently did a file in Terragen which I decided to render as a minute long video 1024x720 px (30fps) with some cloud/camera movement and setting sun with shadows. It's currently on the 316th frame and at this rate it'll be about 2 weeks before it's finished rendering.

My setup uses an AMD Athlon 4000+ with 1gig of ram and a Geforce 7300se Graphics card - it's not great but is mostly used for uni work and programming, but as I'd rather not wait my entire life to create a few videos I'm considering an upgrade. So I could someone please advise on the following...

I know high-end quadro cards can be good but what about the cheaper models such as the Quadro FX 570? Is there any point or should i just stick with current setup?

Do they make a difference with all 3d applications or are they only made to work with the more well known apps such as Poser and 3ds Max?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are Quadro graphics cards really worth it?

• Bassface
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are Quadro graphics cards really worth it?

Posted 25 June 2008 - 03:50 PM

Sorry im no good at hardware tbh.

But hey! A fellow Brit! :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 26 June 2008 - 04:11 AM

Oh yes - tis good to see solidarity in the people of blighty.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 July 2008 - 05:14 AM