5 Replies - 35103 Views - Last Post: 27 June 2008 - 04:37 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Copy multiple files

Post icon  Posted 25 June 2008 - 03:07 PM

Hello all,

My name's Bill, I'm a complete noob beginner looking for a home! I'm working in Visual Studio 2008 using C#. I have several programs I want to build as I get my skill level up, but I seem to keep getting hung up on simple stuff, so I'm going to have to start asking questions. I hope this is a good site for beginners...

My question is a simple one- I'm trying to create an event when a button is clicked to copy all files from one location to another- eventually, from a flash drive to the C: drive of a computer, but I'm just copying from a test directory for now. Here's the basic code for the button_Click event that I'm trying to make work....

private void button2_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
		{
			String[] files=Directory.GetFiles("C:\\test\\source", "*.*");

foreach(string file in files)
			{
				string destfile = Path.Combine("C:\\test\\destination", file);
				File.Copy (file, destfile, true);

}

}

I know it will need a Try Catch and etc., but right now I just want to make it work. I can run the Form, but when I click the button I get an unhandled exception, saying it cannot access the file because it is in use by another process. If I change the destination to an absolute file name it works, but I only end up with one file in the destination folder because it's set to overwrite and it just copies each file, overwriting the last with the same name. I'm guessing somehow it's locking the file during copy and can't retrieve the file name to use in the destination folder or something I don't know. Anyways, I've written it several ways, and tried several snippets I've found all around and can't find a working solution. TIA for any help, and please don't assume I know what I'm doing at all!

This post has been edited by Sentry68: 25 June 2008 - 03:10 PM