How to find a Ping sequence?

Pinging one computer from another.

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1487 Views - Last Post: 18 July 2008 - 12:19 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 jagatworld   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 11-May 08

How to find a Ping sequence?

Post icon  Posted 15 July 2008 - 01:52 AM

:^: I am just working in my lab, and got a stupid doubt, i think it must a be very easy, but unable to find the way for it.

Im explaining the situation below.

2 computes Lb1 and Lb2

from Lb1  -->  Start  -->  Run  -->  

Ping Lb2 -t



it is continusly pinging Lb2 and giving some answer like

Reply from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx bytes=32  time<1ms  TTL=128
Reply from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx bytes=32  time<1ms  TTL=128
Reply from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx bytes=32  time<1ms  TTL=128



Now the Situation :

I just wanted some VB.NET app on Lb2 which in running and will send an alert or something when ever LB2 was pinged by Lb1.

Thats it. I exactly dont know whether this is a simple or complex solutions. But felt very interesting, we can build a huge bunch of applications if we are able to find a way out for this.

If any one have ever done something like this, or knows the solution, please post here.

Thanks and Regards.

Jagat.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to find a Ping sequence?

#2 no2pencil   User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6642
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,931
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: How to find a Ping sequence?

Posted 15 July 2008 - 02:17 AM

I believe that ping responses are handled by the firmware on the Network Interface Card, & they independent of the Operating System. This is my understanding, however I could be wrong.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jagatworld   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 11-May 08

Re: How to find a Ping sequence?

Posted 15 July 2008 - 04:21 AM

Even I expected that and it might be true, they are first handled by the NIC Card.
But those pings can be caught.

I have seen an example in the software DUMeter.

I have that for network flow monitor for my system.

Even for pings to my system, that DUMeter software shows the graph, so, we can catch those pings,

Iam trying to find out a way......... !
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Damage   User is offline

  • Lord of Schwing
  • member icon

Reputation: 300
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,989
  • Joined: 05-June 08

Re: How to find a Ping sequence?

Posted 17 July 2008 - 06:35 AM

hey man, i'm just checking if you managed to find a way to log the ping? I've been having a cursory look with google but haven't managed to find anything really useful yet?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jagatworld   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 11-May 08

Re: How to find a Ping sequence?

Posted 18 July 2008 - 12:19 AM

No, not yet..... but Iam really waiting for it...... its important for us.....
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1