Network topology

And other small questions

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 1928 Views - Last Post: 01 November 2008 - 08:05 AM

#1 ಠ_ಠ   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 26-September 08

Network topology

Posted 27 October 2008 - 05:26 PM

"You must subnet this address block to accommodate this future requirement and design an IP addressing scheme for their current setup. "

Im having a problem with the larger subnet.

I have to make a network with this ip:
192.1.2.0 /24
So we have 255 host names to mess around with.

We need 12 (company wants it) subnets so 255 % 12 = 21.25 or 21 hosts each
with 3 extra ips to mess around with.

Each subnet needs a switch(dont think they need an ip).
Which would you pick if you knew the network was going to have heavy traffic on it?.
A or B or your C?
Posted Image

I have to give the subnets the most hosts i can theres no real say on how many they need.

Im new to this so i might not have given all info required to answer me. ;)

This post has been edited by ಠ_ಠ: 27 October 2008 - 05:28 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Network topology

#2 dbasnett   User is online

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 124
  • View blog
  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: 01-October 08

Re: Network topology

Posted 29 October 2008 - 08:40 AM

/28

Mask:255.255.255.240 Host/Net - 14
Network		  Broadcast
192.1.2.0		192.1.2.15
192.1.2.16	   192.1.2.31
192.1.2.32	   192.1.2.47
192.1.2.48	   192.1.2.63
192.1.2.64	   192.1.2.79
192.1.2.80	   192.1.2.95
192.1.2.96	   192.1.2.111
192.1.2.112	  192.1.2.127
192.1.2.128	  192.1.2.143
192.1.2.144	  192.1.2.159
192.1.2.160	  192.1.2.175
192.1.2.176	  192.1.2.191
192.1.2.192	  192.1.2.207
192.1.2.208	  192.1.2.223
192.1.2.224	  192.1.2.239
192.1.2.240	  192.1.2.255



btw - the address you are using is a public IP address!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 MorphiusFaydal   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Network topology

Posted 29 October 2008 - 01:15 PM

IIRC, your switch port needs an address as well. Not sure, but you may want to look that up. And remember the subnet has a broadcast address too, so you have to subtract one from that number.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 dbasnett   User is online

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 124
  • View blog
  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: 01-October 08

Re: Network topology

Posted 29 October 2008 - 02:00 PM

i shouldn't have assumed they knew that, though it is implied here
Mask:255.255.255.240 Host/Net - 14
192.1.2.0 192.1.2.15 = 16 addresses

192.1.2.0 is the "Network" and is normally not used
192.1.2.15 is the broadcast and should not be used
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 MorphiusFaydal   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Network topology

Posted 30 October 2008 - 05:17 AM

View Postdbasnett, on 29 Oct, 2008 - 04:00 PM, said:

i shouldn't have assumed they knew that, though it is implied here
Mask:255.255.255.240 Host/Net - 14
192.1.2.0 192.1.2.15 = 16 addresses

192.1.2.0 is the "Network" and is normally not used
192.1.2.15 is the broadcast and should not be used

Bah! I was/am tired! Confuse me not with your implications of information previously imparted!

:)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 dbasnett   User is online

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 124
  • View blog
  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: 01-October 08

Re: Network topology

Posted 30 October 2008 - 08:43 AM

sorry


as to the switch needing an IP or not. if it is managed, and you want to manage it, then it will need an ip from the range.

if it is unmanaged or it is managed and you don't want to manage it then it doesn't need to have an IP from your range.

"Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really
embodies the grace of Linux, which tells me they have never seen an
angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100 mph. They'd be a lot
more careful about what they say if they had."
- Linus Torvalds, in the announcement of Linux v2.0.0 on 9 June, 1996

100 MPH or was that just Linus making stuff up? i think 30'ish MPH is the fastest underwater, and on land much slower.

This post has been edited by dbasnett: 30 October 2008 - 08:45 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 MorphiusFaydal   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Network topology

Posted 01 November 2008 - 08:05 AM

View Postdbasnett, on 30 Oct, 2008 - 10:43 AM, said:

sorry


as to the switch needing an IP or not. if it is managed, and you want to manage it, then it will need an ip from the range.

if it is unmanaged or it is managed and you don't want to manage it then it doesn't need to have an IP from your range.

"Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really
embodies the grace of Linux, which tells me they have never seen an
angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100 mph. They'd be a lot
more careful about what they say if they had."
- Linus Torvalds, in the announcement of Linux v2.0.0 on 9 June, 1996

100 MPH or was that just Linus making stuff up? i think 30'ish MPH is the fastest underwater, and on land much slower.

It's an *extreme* exaggeration of an actual event that happened to him. He was in ... Australia, I think, at a zoo, and they had penguins in an outdoor cage... Like places will have peacocks or something... Fenced in, but not truly contained, like in a zoo. Well, there was a sign that said not to reach into the pen, feed the penguins, and whatnot. Well, Linus being Linus, he's reaching in to touch the penguins. It ended up with one biting him on the hand. IIRC, it wasn't like "oh god I need a doctor!" bite, but more of an "Ow. That kinda hurt." kind of bite that you forget about 30 minutes later.

I may have some details wrong, but that's the gist of what actually happened.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1