Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Askin someone to run my code :D

Page 1 of 1

10 Replies - 4059 Views - Last Post: 10 November 2008 - 10:00 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 monkycheez   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 30-October 08

Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:21 PM

Issue fixed. Thanks to all who replied :D

This post has been edited by monkycheez: 10 November 2008 - 09:11 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

#2 pbl   User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,956
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:24 PM

There is nothing GUI oriented in that class
The GUI must be implemented by the class Product
unless you post that class I don't think we can help
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 monkycheez   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 30-October 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:31 PM

I'm not so sure I understand fully. The GUI coding is located in the main class. I'm not sure what you mean by there is nothing GUI oriented in "that" class.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Locke   User is offline

  • Sarcasm Extraordinaire!
  • member icon

Reputation: 550
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,624
  • Joined: 20-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:34 PM

I have 1 question, why do you call the pack() method, if you're just going to set the size of the frame anyway? I don't think that'll affect much, but I dunno.

This post has been edited by Locke37: 10 November 2008 - 08:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 monkycheez   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 30-October 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:41 PM

Locke. I love you.

that pack() was the culprit. It's late, and coding + fatigue = fail. Thanks man.

<3

This post has been edited by monkycheez: 10 November 2008 - 08:48 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 pbl   User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,956
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:53 PM

View Postmonkycheez, on 10 Nov, 2008 - 07:31 PM, said:

I'm not so sure I understand fully. The GUI coding is located in the main class. I'm not sure what you mean by there is nothing GUI oriented in "that" class.

My mistake
didn't realize that you posted multiple classes in different [ code][ /code]
be back soon
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Locke   User is offline

  • Sarcasm Extraordinaire!
  • member icon

Reputation: 550
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,624
  • Joined: 20-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:53 PM

:blink:

Man...to be honest, I didn't think that would create much of a problem. But I try to stay away from the pack() method all together. :^:

Anyway: Glad I could help! :D

View Postpbl, on 10 Nov, 2008 - 07:53 PM, said:

View Postmonkycheez, on 10 Nov, 2008 - 07:31 PM, said:

I'm not so sure I understand fully. The GUI coding is located in the main class. I'm not sure what you mean by there is nothing GUI oriented in "that" class.

My mistake
didn't realize that you posted multiple classes in different [ code][ /code]
be back soon


Don't jump the gun. :lol:

This post has been edited by Locke37: 10 November 2008 - 08:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 pbl   User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,956
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 09:04 PM

View Postmonkycheez, on 10 Nov, 2008 - 07:21 PM, said:

Hey there. I've got a program it has its GUI code all set up. I don't have any errors in the code and it compiles and runs fine, but for some reason I don't get any GUI output.


Works well for me

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 monkycheez   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 30-October 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 09:10 PM

That's weird. Oh well. I got it to run successfully and that's good enough for me to turn it in, haha.

Thanks for the assistance :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 pbl   User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,956
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 09:15 PM

View Postmonkycheez, on 10 Nov, 2008 - 08:10 PM, said:

Thanks for the assistance :D

So click on "That post was usefull" for Locke37
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Locke   User is offline

  • Sarcasm Extraordinaire!
  • member icon

Reputation: 550
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,624
  • Joined: 20-March 08

Re: Java GUI, No errors, but won't show GUI

Posted 10 November 2008 - 10:00 PM

Don't worry...he did. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1