13 Replies - 15237 Views - Last Post: 25 February 2009 - 02:33 AM Rate Topic: -----

• human.setType("geek");
  • member icon

• View blog

Trying to display contents of a .txt file in an HTML page

Posted 23 February 2009 - 06:41 AM

Hey, everyone, i am very new to php which seems to be a very powerful and popular language on the web and seems to be crucial for me to now how to program in, i developing a website that needs constant update, for this reason i will be using php script to make the webpage get it's content from a text file that can be edited by the website admin without having to modify the html file and play with the code, he just has to change the contents of the text file and the contents of the page would change. Since i am new to php and i need to study it really fast becuase i am in great need for it, i started working on a example that would serve as a simple test to whether that can be achieved, the script gets the contents of the file and i supposed to print them into the page, the webpage opens yet the contents are not displayed although the web host i am using supports php, so please i would like you to check out the code and tell me what is wrong and give me some suggestions, thanks very much for your help :)

<?Php
$file = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . "content.txt"; 
$contents = file($file);
$string = implode($contents);
?>
<html>
<head></head>
<title>test</title>
<body>
<?php echo $string;?>
</body>
</html> 

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Trying to display contents of a .txt file in an HTML page

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Trying to display contents of a .txt file in an HTML page

Posted 23 February 2009 - 07:09 AM

View Postayman_mastermind, on 23 Feb, 2009 - 08:41 AM, said: