3 Replies - 1372 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2009 - 08:42 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Saving Project to Thumb Drive

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:10 PM

I routinely make backups of my VB 2008 projects, using Windows Explorer, copying the entire project file to a thumb drive. For some obscure reason, a couple of days ago it suddenly stopped working. Specifically, the project is fine on the harddrive, can be copied to a backup area of the harddrive, but when I copy it to the thumb drive, I get an error message indicating the file can't be found. This is not a new process--I have been backing up projects for several years and never encountered anything like this.

When I click on the project folder, it shows the typical files. When I doubleclick on the .sln file, nothing happens (meaning the file does not open as it does on the harddrive). Solution Explorer shows a .vb file. When I click that, I get the "Can't find the file" error. Other projects on the thumb drive open with no problem, but I am hesitant to overwrite those with "new" versions that may not work.

Any insights into the cause and possible cures for this aberrant behavior would be sincerely appreciated!
Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Saving Project to Thumb Drive

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Saving Project to Thumb Drive

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:09 PM

There could be a few different reasons for this strange occurrance:

The most likely is that your virus scanner is picking up the files on the thumb drive and scanning them. While your virus scanner has a hook on the files they can not be opened by their respective programs.

Another option is that your thumb drive is dying. Thumb drives do die. They're only good for a certain amount of read/write cycles.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 February 2009 - 08:25 AM