8 Replies - 1944 Views - Last Post: 22 April 2004 - 07:39 PM

#1 caffinephreak   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: 08-July 02

Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 21 April 2004 - 10:36 PM

Ok, i just want to do a lil props to php and mysql on the bottom of the page, nuttin big, just their logos, well my question is (since i havn't done html in a while) is how do i get it nice and on the bottom, it works in IE, but not firefox. heres what i have:

<span class="bottom" align="center"><img src='images/phppower.png'><img align='absbottom'src='images/mysql.png'></span>


and

.bottom {
	font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
	font-size: 11px;
	color: #000000;
	position: absolute;
	top:550px;
	left: 285px;
}


thats the css file...

how can i get it to just display all nice on the bottom for BOTH browsers?

thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

#2 snoj   User is offline

  • Married Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 93
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,583
  • Joined: 31-March 03

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 10:46 AM

Why not just put the logo's at the bottom of the page/code?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 caffinephreak   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: 08-July 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 11:55 AM

much easier said than done...everything is done in CSS/divs so, if i put it at the bottom of the code, both browsers put it at the top, but i fixed it. just put it in a table z-index: -1
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Amadeus   User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 250
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 11:59 AM

caffinephreak, on Apr 22 2004, 01:55 PM, said:

much easier said than done...everything is done in CSS/divs so, if i put it at the bottom of the code, both browsers put it at the top, but i fixed it. just put it in a table z-index: -1

Are ya sure? I don't see it in IE.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 cyberscribe   User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 12:19 PM

Use this:

http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/

to turn IE into a real web browser that acutally conforms to CSS standards.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Amadeus   User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 250
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,507
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 12:23 PM

I was merely informing him that I was unable to view the pics in IE, as he had previously stated that he wished to have it display in both. I don't use IE myself, except for browser compatability checks for client sites.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 cyberscribe   User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 05:04 PM

Amadeus, on Apr 22 2004, 12:23 PM, said:

I was merely informing him that I was unable to view the pics in IE

I was just recommending that he try using this library if the site is heavy into layers. If the site is working in Mozilla, the library might cajole IE into behaving more like Mozilla.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 caffinephreak   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 229
  • Joined: 08-July 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 06:34 PM

thanks all for the help, but i got it to look decent in both...i realized i didn't even need the z-index, since both browsers put the divs over the table, so took it off to shrink the style sheet. I didn't want to do anything special to my install of IE, cuz i couldn't care less about it myself, but at least half the people that will visit my site don't even know what mozilla is...hence the linkage at the bottom....
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 cyberscribe   User is offline

  • humble.genius
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,062
  • Joined: 05-May 02

Re: Cant Get It The Same In Ie And Firefox

Posted 22 April 2004 - 07:39 PM

Glad it's working. For the record, the library I recommended, above, doesn't actually modify IE in any way. It just uses CSS to trick IE into reading and parsing CSS like the rest of the world. Handy stuff.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1