I Screwed Myself Over Because I Taught Myself?

The argument about design and degrees.

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

49 Replies - 4405 Views - Last Post: 14 May 2004 - 05:33 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

I Screwed Myself Over Because I Taught Myself?

Posted 03 May 2004 - 08:16 PM

I'm new here, but not to design. Since 8th grade, I've been designing, developing, and publishing websites. After spending some time with the web, I stopped scripting (although I still read web-based languages) and got myself more into just creating web graphics. But right now, the internet is new, and graphics on the web are extremely limited.

So I started creating desktops, started making graphics in 300DPI just for the hell of it. I still post them on the web, but not with the intent to actually use it on a site. I'd like to say that being self-taught allows for more creativity, allows for a more "well-rounded" education, as opposed to doing assignments and being confined to certain programs in the classroom, or certain operating systems. Most graphic design employers are looking for interns who are in a course about graphic design (which I have been) or people who have their AA/BA in graphic design/design/fine arts.

So locally, I'm nothing. On the internet, however, it's hard to tell if I'm a major or if I've spent two seconds in a classroom. You can see my Livejournal for my latest work (at the time my host is down, sorry). I also have an account @ deviantART, even though their new system is too tedious for me to even want to update it frequently.

If any of you are a part of the community "graphicdesign" in Livejournal, you'll know the debate is ever-lasting. Some say it's better to have just to have (especially in able to get in the door to begin with), and some say that if the employer is worth anything, they'll accept you based on your work, not your education.