Look at my new site?

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 1980 Views - Last Post: 28 October 2004 - 06:27 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Feedback Wanted!

Posted 28 October 2004 - 05:54 AM

Take a look: JonicBlog

There's the link, but i'd like to say a little about the validation...

I've deactivated the validation links at the bottom of the page out for the meantime because I had a bit of a dillema...

I'm still kinda new to CSS... The site works perfectly in FireFox and is 100% valid, but I'm not too good with CSS hacks for IE so I just created two templates and got my PHP on to select the MSIE template if the browser says it's IE... Fair enough you might think... I'm using a cookie to store this data so that the function to choose the template doesn't run every time the page loads...

The w3c validator won't accept a cookie so it doesn't know which template to use... It just gets the PHP error telling me the file i've tried to include isn't found... It does validate as XHTML 1.0 Strict, and the CSS is all perfect, and those of you with FireFox's web developer extension may be tempted to try validating it, but it won't work yet... I'm thinking of a way around it...

I'm not great at design either so you'll have to be gentle with me...

There's some cool shit going on in there though... This is the most streamlined site i've made (behind the scenes) and I'm trying really hard to make a site that's gonna last... I'm designing the database next... Great fun...

The top image rotates with each page load too... I'm having fun with GD at the moment...

Anything else? Oh yeah... Ignore the content... It's mainly for my benefit... And the section about the website really does make it sound like I don't really know anything about making websites... So especially ignore that one... I was tired...

It was designed with a good browser in mind so it looks a little crappy in IE... I had to resort to tables for the IE version until I can be arsed to learn the necessary CSS hacks...