Remote Machine OS

How to find the remote machines OS.

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 1965 Views - Last Post: 13 April 2009 - 04:00 PM

#1 My_code   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 10-July 08

Remote Machine OS

Post icon  Posted 09 April 2009 - 04:03 AM

hi,

I know the IP address of the remote machine but i want to know which OS it is running.

Can any body tell me or give me the shell script or perl script for how to find the remote machines OS by knowing its IP address.

solutions are appreciated.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Remote Machine OS

#2 KevinADC   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 27
  • View blog
  • Posts: 401
  • Joined: 23-January 07

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 09 April 2009 - 02:14 PM

I don't think you can.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 My_code   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 10-July 08

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 02:27 AM

View PostKevinADC, on 9 Apr, 2009 - 01:14 PM, said:

I don't think you can.

is there any solution to solve the above solution.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 numeric   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: 12-January 09

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:08 AM

I wouldn't think so. OS information isn't normally transmitted accross a network because it isn't really needed - as long as any communications follow the same protocol they will work, regardless of the respective systems OS.

Why exactly are you looking to find the OS of a remote system?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 KevinADC   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 27
  • View blog
  • Posts: 401
  • Joined: 23-January 07

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 11:15 AM

View PostMy_code, on 13 Apr, 2009 - 01:27 AM, said:

View PostKevinADC, on 9 Apr, 2009 - 01:14 PM, said:

I don't think you can.

is there any solution to solve the above solution.


None that I know of. You need to re-evaluate whatever it is you are doing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 baavgai   User is offline

  • Dreaming Coder
  • member icon


Reputation: 7420
  • View blog
  • Posts: 15,377
  • Joined: 16-October 07

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 11:32 AM

OS discovery is Hacking 101. Check out nmap.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 KevinADC   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 27
  • View blog
  • Posts: 401
  • Joined: 23-January 07

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 03:14 PM

View Postbaavgai, on 13 Apr, 2009 - 10:32 AM, said:

OS discovery is Hacking 101. Check out nmap.


Yep, but I didn't want to go there. Oh well, can't unring a bell.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 sl4ck3r   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 285
  • Joined: 22-September 07

Re: Remote Machine OS

Posted 13 April 2009 - 04:00 PM

you should search for os fingerprinting on google to find methods of discovering OSes. You can tell by packet size and make up and other stuff that will tell you what OS it is. This is not 100% accurate though and there are always exceptions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1